All India Forward Bloc Cover Image
All India Forward Bloc Profile Picture
All India Forward Bloc
Political Party (Political)
011 2875 4273


The All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) may be a left-wing nationalist party in India. It emerged as a faction within the Indian National Congress in 1939, led by Subhas Chandra Bose. The party re-established as an independent party after the independence of India. its its main stronghold in West Bengal . The partys current Secretary-General is Debabrata Biswas. Veteran Indian politicians Sarat Chandra Bose (brother of Subhas Chandra Bose) and Chitta Basu had been the stalwarts of the party in independent India. History The Forward Bloc of the Indian National Congress was formed on May 3, 1939 by Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, who had resigned from the presidency of the Indian National Congress on 29 April after being outmanoeuvered by Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. The formation of the Forward Bloc was announced to the general public at a rally in Calcutta. Bose said that who all were joining, that they had to never turn their back to British and must fill the pledge form by cutting their finger and signing it with their blood. First of all, seventeen young girls came up and signed the pledge form. Initially the aim of the Forward Bloc was to rally all the leftwing sections within the Congress and develop an alternate leadership inside the Congress. Bose became the president of the Forward Bloc and S.S. Cavesheer its vice-president. A Forward Bloc Conference was held in Bombay within the end of June. At that conference the constitution and programme of the Forward Bloc were approved.In July 1939 Subhas Chandra Bose announced the Committee of the Forward Bloc.

It had Subhas Chandra Bose as president, S.S. Kavishar from Punjab as its vice-president, Lal Shankarlal from Delhi, as its general secretary and Pandit B Tripathi and Khurshed Nariman from Bombay as secretaries. Other prominent members were Annapurniah from Andhra Pradesh , Senapati Bapat, Hari Vishnu Kamnath from Bombay, Pasumpon U. Muthuramalingam Thevar from Tamil Nadu and Sheel Bhadra Yagee from Bihar. Satya Ranjan Bakshi, was appointed because the secretary of the Bengal Provincial Forward Bloc. In August, an equivalent year Bose began publishing a newspaper titled Forward Bloc. He travelled round the country, rallying support for his new political project. Ahead of the 2000 Bihar legislative election AIFB took part in building a front along side the Bharatiya Jan Congress, the Bihar Vikas Party, the Janata Dal (Secular), the Samajwadi Janata Party and therefore the Nationalist Congress Party. The front vowed to take care of equidistance towards the 2 major blocs in Bihari politics, the Rashtriya Janata Dal and therefore the National Democratic Alliance, condemning them as casteist and communal. In 2002 AIFB was one among four leftwing parties that nominated Lakshmi Sahgal as a candidate for the presidency of India. Sehgal, who challenged the most candidate A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, got around 10% of the votes. In the Lok Sabha elections 2004 the party received 0.4% of votes and three seats (All from West Bengal). Just before the 2006 Tamil Nadu legislative election, the party was joined by the actor Karthik. Karthik was given the post of president of the Tamil Nadu state unit by the national party leadership and was put responsible of the election campaign of the party within the state.

The party decided to contest an outsized number of seats without joining either of the 2 major political blocs in Tamil Nadu . The appointment of Karthik because the new leader of the state unit provoked the only Forward Bloc legislator and secretary of the state unit, L. Santhanam, to go away the party. within the election the party lost its representation within the assembly. a couple of months later the party leadership expelled Karthik on the grounds of anti-party activities. Ahead of the 2006 West Bengal legislative election, a neighborhood of the party led by Jayanta Roy, former AIFB Rajya Sabha member, and Chhaya Ghosh, former West Bengal Minister of Agriculture, broke away and formed the Indian Peoples Forward Bloc. This party aligned itself with the Indian National Congress. The Bharatiya Forward Bloc, a former Forward Bloc faction , merged into the All India Forward Bloc before the 2006 election.