All India Trinamool Congress Cover Image
All India Trinamool Congress Profile Picture
All India Trinamool Congress
Political Party (Political)
+91 33 2345 5382


The All India Trinamool Congress is an Indian national party mostly active in West Bengal .The party is led by its founder and current chief minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee.

>>> All India Trinamool Congress Leaders <<<

Following the 2019 election its currently the fifth-largest party within the Lok Sabha with 22 seats.Since its inception the party has been at the forefront of the anti-communist movement in West Bengal .Their main political rival in West Bengal is Bharatiya Janata Party. After being a member of the Indian National Congress for over 26 years, Mamata Banerjee formed her own party of Bengal, the "Trinamool Congress", which was registered with the committee of India during mid-December 1999. The committee allotted to the party an exclusive symbol of Jora Ghas Phul.

On 2 September 2016 committee recognized AITC as a national party .In December 2006, the people of Nandigram got notice by Haldia Development Authority that major portion of Nandigram would be seized and 70,000 people be evicted from their homes. People started movement against this land acquisition and Trinamool Congress led the movement. Bhumi Uchchhed Pratirodh Committee (BUPC) was formed against land grabbing and eviction. On 14 March 2007 the police opened firing and killed 14 villagers. more went missing. Many sources claimed which was supported by CBI in its report, that armed CPM cadres, along side police, fired on protesters in Nandigram Many intellectuals protested on the streets and this incident gave birth to a replacement movement. SUCI (C) leader Nanda Patra led the movement. In the 2011 West Bengal legislature election, the Trinamool Congress-led alliance that included the INC and SUCI(C) won 227 seats within the 294-seat legislature. Trinamool Congress alone won 184 seats, enabling it to control without an alliance. Subsequently, it won a by-election in Basirhat and two Congress MLAs switched to TMC, giving it a complete of 187 seats. Now the party possesses a National Party Status, expanding its base in Tripura, Assam, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu , Kerala,Sikkim, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh. In Kerala, the party contested from five seats in 2014 general elections. On 18 September 2012, TMC Chief, Mamata Banerjee, announced her decision to withdraw support to the UPA after the TMCs demands to undo government-instituted changes including FDI in retail, increase within the price of diesel and limiting the amount of subsidised cooking gas cylinders for households, werent met. In the 1998 Lok Sabha polls, TMC won 7 seats. within the next Lok Sabha election that was held in 1999, Trinamool Congress won 8 seats with BJP, thus increasing its tally by one. In 2000, TMC won the Kolkata Municipal Corporation Elections. within the 2001 Vidhan Sabha elections, TMC won 60 seats with Congress(I). within the 2004 Lok Sabha elections, TMC won 1 seat with BJP. within the 2006 Vidhan Sabha elections, TMC won 30 seats with BJP. In the 2011 West Bengal legislature election, TMC won a majority of 184 seats (out of 294). Mamata Banerjee became the Chief Minister. within the following 2016 West Bengal legislature election, TMC retains its majority and won 211 seats (out of 294) .