Arvind Kejriwal Cover Image
Arvind Kejriwal Profile Picture
Arvind Kejriwal
Chief of Province (Leaders)
011-23392020 / 011-23392030


Popularly known as "Aam Aadmi"(common man). He is an Indian politician, social activist, and former bureaucrat. Also known for an important role that he played in drafting the Jan Lokpal Bill.  In 2006, he won Ramon Magsaysay Award. In 2012, he published a book named Swaraj. He believes in simplicity and loves to do work on his own. He believes in hard work. First, we will see a glimpse of his early life, family and education.

 Arvind Kejriwal: Early life, Family and Education

He was born on 16 August, 1968 in Bhiwani, Haryana in an upper-middle-class family. He is the first of the three children of Gobind Ram Kejriwal and Gita Devi. His father completed graduation from Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra and was an electrical engineer. Arvind Kejriwal spent his childhood days in towns like Ghaziabad, Hisar, and Sonepat. He did his schooling from the Campus School in Hisar and Christian Missionary Holy Child School at Sonipat.

He gave the IIT-JEE exam in 1985 and scored 563 All India Rank (AIR). In 1989, he did mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. In Kolkata, he had spent some time at the Ramakrishna Mission and Nehru Yuva Kendra. In 1989, he joined Tata Steel, Jamshedpur. He took leave of absence from the company for the preparation of Civil Services examination.

Finally, in 1992, he resigned from the job and in the same year, he cleared the Civil Services examination and joined the Indian Revenue Service. After doing service, in 2006, he resigned from the post of Joint Commissioner in the Income-Tax Department. Do you know when he was working with the Income Tax Department; he assisted in forming the NGO named Parivartan in December 1999.

form India Against Corruption Group (IAC), he joined various activists including Anna Hazare and Kiran Bedi in 2011. It demanded the enactment of the Jan Lok Pal Bill.

The difference of opinion arose between Anna Hazare and Arvind Kejriwal. As, Hazare wanted the Jan Lokpal movement to be neutral but Kejriwal felt that to make a difference, it is necessary to get involved in politics. The move of Kejriwal was supported by Shanti Bhushan and Prashant Bhushan but Kiran Bedi, Santosh Hegde opposed it.

As a result, Arvind Kejriwal announced the formation of a political party on the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi on 2 October, 2012. He formally launched the party on 26 November, 2012, the day when the Constitution of India was adopted in 1949.


Political Carrier

The party was called as Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) or the Common Mans Party.On 4 December, 2013, the party contested elections for the first time for the Delhi legislative assembly. Sheila Dikshit was defeated by Arvind Kejriwal in the New Delhi assembly constituency, who had been the Chief Minister of Delhi for three successive terms. On 28 December, 2013, Arvind Kejriwal was first sworn in as the Chief Minister. In February 2014, he resigned from the post and governed Delhi for only 49 days.

After resignation, he announced that he would not contest a seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. But members of the party persuaded him to change his mind and as a result on 25 March, he agreed to contest against BJP prime ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi, from Varanasi. He lost the contest by around 4 lakh votes.

The Election Commission of India dissolved the Delhi Legislative Assembly after 9 months of the Governors Rule. That is Delhi had a date with fresh elections. He led AAP and started making strategy for the elections. 62 candidates list was released initially for the elections. Later, eight other names were added to the list. In 2012 elections, the party fielded its candidates in all 70 constituencies of Delhi as compared to 69. At that time, AAP raised funds for campaigning and also received funds from the public. Arvind Kejriwal gained popularity via social media.

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi Party to win 67 of the 70 constituencies, leaving the BJP with three seats and INC with none. He was again elected from the New Delhi constituency, defeated Nupur Sharma of BJP by around 31,583 votes. On 14 February, 2015, he took oath as Delhis Chief Minister for a second time at Ramlila Maidan. Since then his party passed the Jan Lokpal Bill though with some differences.


 In 2004 Ashoka Fellow

 In 2005, the IIT Kanpur presented him with the Satyendra L. Dubey Memorial Award.

In 2006, Ramon Magsaysay Award.

In 2006, "Indian of the Year" award from CNN-IBN.

In 2009, the IIT Kharagpur bestowed him with the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

In 2009, Association for Indias development awarded him a grant and fellowship.

In 2010, the Economic Times Awards for Corporate Excellence awarded Arvind Kejriwal, along with Aruna Roy, the Policy change Agent of the Year award.

In 2011, the Indian of the Year award by NDTV to Arvind Kejriwal and Anna Hazare.

Books written on Arvind Kejriwal

A Man With a Mission - Arvind Kejriwal by Little Scholarz Editorial.The Disruptor: Arvind Kejriwal and the Audacious Rise of the Aam Aadmi by Gautam Chikermane and Soma Banerjee

Book written by Arvind Kejriwal

 Swaraj book is written by Arvind Kejriwal. In the book, he questioned the present democratic system in India and suggests the way people can achieve true Swaraj (self-rule). The book proposes Gandhis concept of Swaraj or "Home-rule" model of governance.