Biju Janata Dal Cover Image
Biju Janata Dal Profile Picture
Biju Janata Dal
Political Party (Political)


The Biju Janata Dal (transl. Biju Janata Dal; abbr. BJD) may be a regional party within the Indian state of Odisha founded and led by Naveen Patnaik, the present Chief Minister of Odisha and therefore the son of former Chief minister Biju Patnaik, after whom the party was named. it had been founded on 26 December 1997.

BJD won nine seats within the 1998 election and Naveen was named the Minister for Mines. within the 1999 general elections, BJD won 10 seats. The party won a majority of seats within the state legislature within the 2000 and 2004 elections in alliance with BJP. The party won 11 Lok Sabha seats within the 2004 elections. within the aftermath of Kandhamal Riots, within the 2009 election the BJD parted ways with the BJP for both the Lok Sabha and Assembly citing communalism and differences in seat sharing. within the 2009 Indian election , BJD won 14 seats and secured strong 108 legislative seats out of 147 seats in assembly election of 2009. Biju Janata Dal won an enormous victory within the 2014 election securing 20 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 117 of 147 Odisha legislature seat.