Naga Peoples Front Cover Image
Naga Peoples Front Profile Picture
Naga Peoples Front
Political Party (Political)


The Naga Peoples Front (NPF) is a regional political party in Nagaland and Manipur, India. It headed the Nagaland government with the Bharatiya Janata Party, as part of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland from 2003 to 2018. Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu is the president of the party.Till 16 January 2018 Neiphiu Rio, the Lok Sabha member from the lone constituency of Nagaland was the main leader of the party.On 22 March 2004 the NPF absorbed the Nagaland Democratic Party.

Prior to October 2002, the party was known as Nagaland Peoples Council (NPC). The name of the party was changed from Nagaland Peoples Council (NPC) to Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF) in the Ninth General Convention held at Kohima in October 2002. This historic decision found wide acceptance among the people of the state, as a popular wish of the state was to modify the leadership of the state and make it more inclusive.

In Nagaland, both the ruling Naga Peoples Front and the opposition party, the UPA, supported Pranab Mukherjee during the 2012 presidential election. Mukherjee held a meeting with Neiphiu Rio and DAN legislators in Dimapur where NPF leaders formally endorsed their support.

Mukherjee won the election on 19 July 2012. When the Nagaland Post asked the Chief Minister, Neiphiu Rio, if the support extended to the presidential candidate was also "issue based" as the NPF-led DAN was supporting the UPA government at the centre on the same line, the Chief Minister said that his party was supporting the UPA and hence it was the right perspective that the DAN legislators also support UPA’s presidential nominee. NPFs main opposition in the legislative assembly is the Indian National Congress party.

Although the Naga Peoples Front has local arrangements with the NDA it previously had not support either the NDA or the UPA in the central government where it has 1 MP in the Lok Sabha.

For the 2014 General Election, the North-East Regional Political Front (NERPF), a consortium of 10 regional parties, including the Naga Peoples Front announced their support for the NDA.

Currently the NPF is a part of North-East Regional Political Front consisting of political parties of the northeast which has supported the National Democratic Alliance (India).

On 11 May 2015, all of the assemblys Congress MLAs joined the NPF.

46 MLAs from the 60 member Nagaland Legislative Assembly are from the NPF. The opposition, Congress, is represented by 18 MLAs and the rest of the assembly consists of 7 independent MLAs.

In May 2016, after the Bharatiya Janata Party led National Democratic Alliance formed its first government in Assam, a new alliance called the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) was formed with Himanta Biswa Sarma as its convener. The Chief Ministers of the north eastern states of Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland too belong to this alliance. Thus, the Naga Peoples Front joined the BJP led NEDA. On 18 May 2019,NPF pulled out of NDA Government in Manipur.