National People's Party Cover Image
National People's Party Profile Picture
National People's Party
Political Party (Political)
(011) 23010123, 23794263


The National Peoples Party may be a national-level party in India, though its influence is usually concentrated within the state of Meghalaya. The party was founded by P A Sangma after his expulsion from the NCP in July 2012. it had been accorded national party status on 7 June 2019. its the primary party from Northeastern India to possess attained this status.


In January 2013, P. A. Sangma launched the party on the national level. He announced that his party would be in alliance with the National Democratic Alliance led by Bharatiya Janta Party. Sangma also reiterated that though the membership of the party is hospitable all, it shall be a tribalcentric party.

Sangma who has been a nine-time Member of Parliament, had announced to make a replacement party soon after his expulsion from the Nationalist Congress Party in July 2012, when he refused to simply accept party decision to quit the 2012 Indian presidential election. NPP contested the assembly election of Rajasthan in December 2013, under the leadership of Kirodi Lal Meena, a former BJP member and MP (Independent from Dausa) at the time of election and won four seats.

Currently its a neighborhood of North-East Regional Political Front consisting of political parties of the northeast which has supported the National Democratic Alliance.

In 2015, during a rare move committee has suspended NPP for its failure to supply partys expenditure during Lok Sabha Elections held in 2014. NPP became first party to urge suspended by EC.

In September 2015, the leaders of six parties—Samajwadi Party, Nationalist Congress Party, Jan Adhikar Party, Samras Samaj Party, National Peoples Party and Samajwadi Janata Party announced the formation of a 3rd front referred to as the Socialist Secular Morcha.National Peoples Party is fighting on 3 seats as a part of Socialist Secular Morcha in 2015 Bihar legislature election.

In May 2016, after the Bharatiya Janata Party led National Democratic Alliance formed its first government in Assam, and formed a replacement alliance called the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) with Himanta Biswa Sarma as its convener. The Chief Ministers of the north eastern states of Sikkim, Assam and Nagaland too belong to the present alliance. Thus, the National Peoples Party joined the BJP-led NEDA.

The NPP contested 9 candidates within the 2017 Manipur legislature election and won 4 seats.

In March 2018, The NPP came second behind Indian National Congress by winning 19 seats within the 2018 Meghalaya legislature election.Conrad Sangma staked claim to make government with a letter of support from the 34 MLA, that included 19 from NPP, 6 from United Democratic Party , 4 from Peoples Democratic Front, two each from Hill State Peoples Democratic Party and Bharatiya Janata Party, and an independent.