Nationalist Congress Party Cover Image
Nationalist Congress Party Profile Picture
Nationalist Congress Party
Political Party (Political)
022-35347400, 022 – 35347401


The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)was formed on 25 May 1999, by Sharad Pawar, P. A. Sangma, and Tariq Anwar after they were expelled from the Indian National Congress (INC) on 20 May 1999, for disputing the proper of Italian-born Sonia Gandhi to steer the party. At the time of formation of the NCP, the Indian Congress party merged with the new party.

>>>>Nationalist Congress Party Leaders <<<<

Despite the NCP being founded on opposition to the leadership of Sonia Gandhi, the party joined the Congress led UPA to make government of Maharashtra in October 1999. In 2004, the party joined the UPA to make the Indian Government led by Manmohan Singh. NCP leader, Sharad pawar served because the minister of agriculture for both five-year terms of Singh led government. The party remained a part of the Congress led Maharashtra government until 2014.

On 20 June 2012, P. A. Sangma quit the NCP to contest in presidential polls. In May 2014 Lok Sabha, the UPA lost to the rival NDA alliance led by Narendra Modi and therefore the NCP was out of state for the primary time in ten years. NCP broke its alliance with the Congress party just before Maharashtra legislature elections in 2014 to contest on its own. within the assembly election the BJP emerged because the largest party and formed a minority government initially with support from NCP.

In April 2019, voting happened for the 48 Lok Sabha seats from Maharashtra. The Congress and NCP had a seat-sharing arrangement.Similarly, despite their differences, the BJP and Shiv Sena once more contested the elections together under the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) banner.The election was another landslide victory for the NDA, with the BJP and Shiv Sena winning 23 and 18 seats, respectively, out of the entire of the states 48 Lok Sabha seats. The Congress party won just one seat within the state whereas the NCP won five seats from its stronghold of western Maharashtra.

In November 2019 after a month of political drama, the NCP came back to power at the state level as a part of a coalition formed between Shiv Sena, the Congress and NCP. This followed the Vidhan sabha elections in October 2019 where the BJP–Shiv-Sena and NCP–Congress alliances remained intact for seat sharing. The BJP and Shiv Sena together gained the bulk of seats within the assembly but couldnt form government thanks to squabbles between the 2 parties. The BJP, with 105 seats, was far in need of the 145 seats required to make majority and declined to make a minority government. At an equivalent time, Shiv Sena started talks with the NCP and Congress to make government. However, during a dramatic and controversial move, on 23 November 2019, the BJP formed a government with support from NCP, with Ajit Pawar as Deputy Chief Minister.

This government collapsed three days later with Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar resigning their respective positions. On 28 November 2019, the governor of Maharashtra swore in Uddhav Thackeray, the Shiv Sena chief, because the new chief minister of Maharashtra. Thackerays governing coalition includes Shiv Sena, NCP, INC, and variety of independent members of legislature . the cupboard includes ministers from NCP in key portfolios.