Samajwadi Party Cover Image
Samajwadi Party Profile Picture
Samajwadi Party
Political Party (Political)


Samajwadi Party (SP founded 4 October 1992) is a political party in India headquartered in New Delhi. It is mainly based in Uttar Pradesh.

Samajwadi Party Leaders


Originally caste-based,the Samajwadi Party was one of several parties that emerged when the Janata Dal (Peoples League) fragmented into several regional parties. The party was founded by Mulayam Singh Yadav in 1992. Created just months before the Babri Masjid demolition, the party is said to played a key role in preventing violence within the state following the event.The Samajwadi Party is now led by former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav after he was chosen the President by the National Convention held on 1 January 2017.

The Samajwadi Party is primarily based in Uttar Pradesh State. It has contested Lok Sabha and State Assembly elections around the country, though its successes have been mainly in Uttar Pradesh. In the 2012 legislative assembly elections of Uttar Pradesh, SP registered a landslide victory with a clear majority in the House, thus enabling it to form the government in the state. This was expected to be the fifth term of Mulayam Singh Yadav as Chief Minister of state, but he surprised everyone by selecting his son, Akhilesh Yadav, to be the new chief minister (the youngest ever). It became official on 15 March. It was also the first time that SP was head of the UP government for a full term of 5 years.

Position In the State

The Samajawadi Party provided outside support to the United Progressive Alliance government up to the fourteenth general election. After the fourteenth general election its support became unnecessary when the UPA became the largest alliance. It contested the 2009 general election in alliance with the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Lok Janshakti Party of Bihar.

In the last general election, the Samajwadi Party was defeated by the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. It is currently the thirteenth largest party in parliament.In the general elections of 2014, it won only 5 seats, while the Indian National Congress gained 44 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party obtained a clear mandate with 282 seats.

In West Bengal, the West Bengal Socialist Party of Kiranmoy Nanda merged with the SP. The SP has two MLA each in Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra.

In April 2014, the Save Indian Family Foundation encouraged voters to support the Samajwadi Party or vote None of the above because the Samajwadi Party had stated that it opposed the alleged misuse of gender bias laws.

The Samajwadi Party has called homosexuality "unethical and immoral.