Telugu Desam Party Cover Image
Telugu Desam Party Profile Picture
Telugu Desam Party
Political Party (Political)
097043 81256


 The Telugu Desam Party (transl. Party of the Telugu Land; abbr. TDP), may be a regional Indian party active within the southern states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.The party was founded by N. T. Rama Rao on 29 March 1982. Since 1995 the party is headed by N. Chandrababu Naidu, former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh . The partys headquarters is found at NTR Bhavan in Hyderabad.

N. T. Rama Rao became the 10th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh in 1983, within nine months of the partys formation, thus forming the primary non-Indian National Congress (INC) government in Andhra Pradesh . TDP was the primary regional party to become the most opposition party at the 8th Lok Sabha from 1984 to 1989.

On 16 March 2018 the TDP walked out of Prime Minister Narendra Modis National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

After the TDPs electoral defeat within the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls persisted 11 April 2019, the TDPs legislature party within the Rajya Sabha merged thereupon of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The Telugu Desam Party follows a pro-Telugu ideology. it had been founded as an alternate to the Congress hegemony, by emphasizing on the Telugu regional pride and a celebration for farmers, backward castes and bourgeoisie people. Since the 1990s, its followed an economically liberal policy that has been seen as pro-business and pro-development party. The TDP uses yellow because the background colour for the flag with a hut, wheel and plough symbol within the foreground. A bicycle is employed because the official party symbol.