Andaman And Nicobar Islands Cover Image
Andaman And Nicobar Islands Profile Picture
Andaman And Nicobar Islands
State (Location)


The Andaman and Nicobar Islands, a union territory of India, are a gaggle of 572 islands of which 38 are inhabited at the juncture of the Bay of Bengal and therefore the Andaman Sea .

The territory is about 150 km (93 mi) north of Aceh in Indonesia and separated from Thailand and Myanmar by the Andaman Sea . It comprises two island groups, the Andaman Islands (partly) and therefore the Nicobar Islands, separated by the 150 km wide Ten Degree Channel (on the 10°N parallel), with the Andaman islands to the north of this latitude, and therefore the Nicobar islands to the south (or by 179 km). The Andaman Sea lies to the east and therefore the Bay of Bengal to the west.

The territorys capital is that the city of Port Blair. the entire acreage of the islands is approximately 8,249 km2 (3,185 sq mi). The territory is split into three districts: the Nicobar District with Car Nicobar as its capital, the South Andaman district with Port Blair as its capital and therefore the North and Middle Andaman district with Mayabunder as its capital.

The islands host the Andaman and Nicobar Command, the sole tri-service geographical command of the Indian soldiers .

The Andaman Islands also are home to the Sentinelese people, an uncontacted tribe. The Sentinelese could be the sole people currently known to not have reached further than a Paleolithic level of technology, however, this is often disputed, as evidence of metalwork was found on their island